DSC Prize for South Asian Literature Shortlist announced

The 2nd annual DSC Prize for South Asian Literature shortlist was announced at a prestigious gala event at London’s Globe Theatre, October 24.

Guests were treated to a performance by award-winning producer and Tabla player Talvin Singh, alongside Sarod maestro Soumik Datta, while the winner of the first DSC Prize, Pakistani writer H.M. Naqvi gave a reading from his winning novel Home Boy.

The DSC Prize for South Asian Literature has a prize value of $50,000 for the best writing about the South Asian region.

The shortlist of 6 books for the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature, 2012 is as follows:

  •    U.R. Ananthamurthy: Bharathipura (Oxford University Press, India, Translated by Susheela Punitha)
  •   Chandrakanta: A Street in Srinagar (Zubaan Books, India, Translated by Manisha Chaudhry)
  •   Usha K.R: Monkey-man (Penguin/Penguin India)
  • Shehan Karunatilaka: Chinaman (Random House, India)
  •   Tabish Khair: The Thing About Thugs (Fourth Estate/HarperCollins-India)
  •   Kavery Nambisan: The Story that Must Not Be Told (Viking/Penguin India)

After intense deliberation the eminent Jury, chaired by Ira Pande along with Dr. Alastair Niven, Dr. Fakrul Alam, Faiza S. Khan, and Marie Brenner selected the shortlist.

The winner of DSC Prize for South Asian Literature will be announced at the DSC Jaipur Literature Festival on 21st January 2012.

You may also like...